Home Vertebrates Mammal Birds Reptiles Amphibians Fish Invertebrates Plant Groups Kingdoms About Us Games Vocabulary Standards References

Fish are one type of animal. They are vertebrates.

Fish are cold-blooded.

They live in water, and usually use gills to breathe.

Some fish lay eggs. Others give birth to live babies.

Some fish have jaws. Others do not.

There are about 30,000 different kinds of fish.

Most fish live in shallow water.

Pollution often harms fish because it destroys their habitat.

Sometimes fish are hard to see because they live below the water.

Fish bones are very thin and do not weigh very much.

Some fish never come to the surface of the water, and never see the sun.

Fish eggs are called roe.

Some people eat fish eggs. They are called caviar, and they are very expensive.

Eels are a type of fish. Sharks are another type of fish.

Some fish are poisonous.

Fish eat plants and other fish.

Some fish have very fancy fins and colors to help them blend in with their surroundings.

One of the most famous fish movies is "Finding Nemo".

Many fish have scales that coat their bodies.

Fish backbones are called notochords.

People often keep fish in aquariums as pets.

Fish can live in salt water or fresh water.

Some examples of fish are:

  • Catfish
  • Eels
  • Sharks
  • Barracuda
  • Lionfish
  • Tuna
  • Rays
  • Pufferfish
  • Salmon

To learn a lot more about fish, visit these links:

Pictures used with permission from Pics4Learning.